piracy

How to reset the trial counter on APTool?

I made the big mistake of buying 5000 USB drives from Alibaba. The sample order was ok, but then when I paid the the real order (of course with a bank transfer with no buyer protection because i'm dumb) they sent me fake drives. They show 8GB to the computer, but inside they have an 8 gigaBIT flash chip. So only the first 1gb can be saved, the rest of data will be lost.

They say "oh we did mistake between gigabytes and gigabits when programming the controller"

Yeah sure, you didn't want to scam me...

The seller sent me a link to this tool: https://www.usbdev.ru/files/chipsbank/cbm2099aptool/

this tool allows to reprogram the drive controller to show to the computer as the right size. I reprogrammed 1000 drives, but then now it says "beta expired".

I tried to search with sysinternals process monitor to see if it placed

The seller said "just format and reinstall windows", but instead because i'm cheap i just used my main PC for that, so i can't reinstall windows (run a weird exe as admin from a Russian forum, what could go wrong?)

1
2
Comments 2