vegancirclejerk

Can anyone help me avoid living up to my own standards?

Hey all, I think of myself as a good person who makes rational choices but lately I haven't been able to shake the feeling that I'm not living up to that.

I don't want to discuss what it is but I'm in the habit of habitually consuming something that I really enjoy, even if it's just for about 10-15 minutes at a time, and don't want to stop. The problem is that whenever I think about it I conclude the following:

  • It's probably bad for me. Sure some people ingest this stuff and live long lives but it's at best slightly harmful and probably worse. Lots of heart attacks due to it
  • Production is exploitative and blood soaked. Everyone involved except the people who own everything is suffering to some degree. PTSD is pretty common.
  • It's pretty environmentally destructive, governments are corrupted to ignore a lot of it but there is a huge amount of land clearing and some pretty foul pollution.
  • It's entirely possible to live without, and much cheaper too.

Like I said though. I really don't want to stop and there would be a transitional period where I'm a bit stressed out and have to rebuild lots of habits. Here are the excuses I've come up with so far:

  • Indigenous people did/do something vaguely similar if you squint a bit.
  • It's very popular to do this thing and I might get social backlash for stopping.
  • It's the car- uh corporations producing it, and I'm just the end user so it's not my fault.
  • Some people aren't in a position to stop it so I shouldn't.
  • It's got a pretty long history of use.
  • If I stop the industry will still exist.
  • It feels really good.

The thing is, all of these ring a bit hollow to me? so could you help me out a bit?

10
5
Comments 5